Networking HQ BLOG with Larry James

Friday, May 31, 2013

Are You an Overly Assumptive Networker?

I’ve heard the “always give two business cards” trick several times. The idea is to give two cards so the other person keeps one and can pass one on to another person. I disagree. When I have two business cards forced upon me by someone I just met, it feels overly pushy and much too assumptive for me. Others have told me it’s a big turn-off.

OneCardThere are times when I want several cards from my contacts, as I plan to give them away. The rule for me is that in order to give someone else’s business card to one of my friends, I have to know them “well,” have used their services or they have been highly recommended by one of my networking friends. No relationship… no referrals (no business card).

Never give someone 2 of your business cards when you first meet. It infers “keep one and pass the second one to someone else,” a right you have yet to earn. One business card in the beginning is quite enough. First of all, if we are meeting for the first time, I don’t really know you and if you assume that I will pass your card to someone else, having just met you… you are very wrong. We don’t have a relationship yet. We just met. It’s too soon to assume such a task.

I never give anyone more than one business card, if that, unless they ask for more. As a matter of fact, I don’t just give my card to anyone. Sometimes after a brief conversation I can instantly discern that they are not someone who I would like to get to know better.

Hand out your business card only after you determine that there has been a connection; that this person is someone you really would like to stay in contact with. Immediately after we have spoken, I jot a quick not to myself about why I should follow-up with this one.

Obviously, the next step is to follow-up the next day; more than two days later in my opinion, is too late to follow-up. By then, they may have forgotten meeting you. When you “call” (not e-mail or text) remind them of where you met and request a time to get together so that can learn more about what they do. It’s best to meet them at their office.

Important: Resist the urge to talk about your business or to attempt to sell them anything if your meeting them at their office. You are there to learn more about them. Generally speaking they will ask about you and your business. They have given you a green light, however I usually tell them a little… just enough to whet their appetite to know more – then once I have determined that they are someone I would like to have a business relationship with, I invite them either to a lunch or a visit to my office.

REVIEW the many other articles on this Blog about business cards: https://networkinghq.wordpress.com/category/business-cards-2/

BONUS Articles: Networking is NOT a Card Game…
What About Business Cards…

netHQ

Copyright © 2013 – Larry James. Adapted from Larry’s latest book, Ten Commitments of Networking: Creative Ways to Maximize Your Personal Connections! Larry James is a Professional Speaker, Author and Networking Coach. He presents networking seminars nationally and “Networking” coaching by telephone or one-on-one. Something NEW about Networking is posted on this Networking BLOG every 4th day! Visit Larry’s Networking Website at: “Networking HQ!”

Subscribe to “Networking HQ BLOG with Larry James” and receive a fresh networking article or tip every 4th day by e-mail. Click on the “Email Subscription” link on the right under the “search” box. You can unsubscribe anytime!

Subscribe to Larry’s FREE monthly “LoveNotes for Lovers” eZINE. Contact: Larry James, P.O. Box 12695, Scottsdale, AZ 85267-2695. – CelebrateLove.com

NOTE: All articles and networking tips listed in this BLOG – written by Larry James – are available for reprint in magazines, periodicals, newsletters, newspapers, eZINEs, on the Internet or on your own Website. Click here for details.

letsbefriends2

Add Larry James as a “friend” to your Facebook page: http://www.Facebook.com/larry.james
Follow Larry’s “once daily” Relationship Tweet at: http://www.Twitter.com/larryjames
Follow Larry’s “Relationship BLOG” at: http://CelebrateLove.wordpress.com/
Follow Larry’s “Wedding BLOG” at: http://CelebrateIntimateWeddings.wordpress.com
Follow Larry’s “Authors & Speakers” BLOG at: http://www.AuthorsandSpeakerNetwork.wordpress.com/

1 Comment »

  1. […] Article: You Need More Than a Cardboard Connection Are You an Overly Assumptive Networker? How Long Has it […]

    Pingback by A Few Beginner’s Networking Tips for Review! | Networking HQ BLOG with Larry James — Thursday, February 26, 2015 @ 7:31 am | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.