Networking HQ BLOG with Larry James

Monday, August 17, 2015

“Your Name is Larry James!”

Imagine my surprise when I went to my favorite Taco Bell (101 & Frank Lloyd Wright, Scottsdale) to get a “*Diamondback Special” and the gal who waited on me called me by name. She looked me straight into the eyes and said, “Your name is Larry James!” It was only the second time that Hanna had ever taken my order.

I was not the only person she called by name. People in front of me and behind me were simply amazed at her recall of customer’s names. I heard, “WoW!”, “I can’t believe she remembered my name!”, there were smiles and giggles and many other remarks of astonishment. The buzz near the cashier was incredible. I watched as one customer looked down to see if he had forgotten to take his name tag off.

NET-URLarryJamesEveryone was talking to each other – even those who, it was obvious – did not know each other before today. It was all about the girl ringing up the orders. Even after I received my order and was sitting in a booth I could hear other taco lovers nearby still talking about it. Her interaction with her customers was causing quite a wonderful stir.

I sat there enjoying my tacos, thinking (outside the bun, of course). I wondered if her manager had told her to do this? I wondered if he knew she was doing this? I wondered how she did it? Did she do it with everyone?

Finally I was so curious that I watched for when she had no customers and went to talk with her. I told her that I admired what she was doing. She blushed. I told her what a great thing she was doing for Taco Bell. She looked a little puzzled. I went on to say that people love to hear their name and everyone there whose name she remembered was talking about it.

The fact that she remembered me only after waiting on me once before was quite amazing. She said, “I do pretty good at remembering the regulars.” She said she tries to remember something about the person that helps her remember their names. And she speaks their name often when she waits on them which also helps her to remember. When their order is ready, she calls their name and gets to see them again.

I asked if her manager knew she had a knack for remembering names. She said no. I told her not to tell her manager, Javier, that it would be best if he heard about it from her customers – that it would soon get back to him and I would be surprised if she didn’t receive some special recognition for it. (We now know that he WILL know very soon because word gets around & I will make sure of that!).

3FREEtacosWhat a terrific way for people to remember Hanna and her Taco Bell store. She told me that she did it for fun to help her pass the time away. I’m pretty sure that she also enjoyed hearing the great comments from the customers.

Often it’s those extra little things, attention to detail, sometimes it’s just a smile, that brings customers back to your business. Today, I would like for everyone one of you networkers be especially aware of thinking up creative ways to make your customers and other networkers in your network feel good enough to smile – or laugh. It’ll cause you and the people you interact with to feel real good. Do it.

It would be great to see some of the ways you do something special for your customers and other networkers in the “Comments” below.

* Diamondback Special: When the Arizona Diamondbacks baseball team scores at least 5 runs in any game, the next day, when you purchase a large drink at Taco Bell, they will give you 3 Free beef tacos.

netHQCopyright © 2015 – Larry James. Adapted from Larry’s latest book, Ten Commitments of Networking: Creative Ways to Maximize Your Personal Connections! Larry James is a Professional Speaker, Author and Networking Coach. He presents networking seminars nationally and “Networking” coaching by telephone or one-on-one. Something NEW about Networking is posted on this Networking BLOG every 4th day! Visit Larry’s Networking Website at: “Networking HQ!”

the-archives2Click for Archives! ~ commentSubscribe to Larry’s FREE monthly “LoveNotes for Lovers” eZINE. Contact: CelebrateLove.com, P.O. Box 12695, Scottsdale, AZ 85267-2695. – CelebrateLove.com and CelebrateIntimateWeddings.com

Subscribe to Larry’s FREE monthly “LoveNotes for Lovers” eZINE. Contact: Larry James, P.O. Box 12695, Scottsdale, AZ 85267-2695. – CelebrateLove.com

NOTE: All articles and networking tips listed in this BLOG – written by Larry James – are available for reprint in magazines, periodicals, newsletters, newspapers, eZINEs, on the Internet or on your own Website. Click here for details.

letsbefriends2

Add Larry James as a “friend” to your Facebook page: http://www.Facebook.com/larry.james
Follow Larry’s “once daily” Relationship Tweet at: http://www.Twitter.com/larryjames
Follow Larry’s “Relationship BLOG” at: http://CelebrateLove.wordpress.com/
Follow Larry’s “Wedding BLOG” at: http://CelebrateIntimateWeddings.wordpress.com
Follow Larry’s “Authors & Speakers” BLOG at: http://www.AuthorsandSpeakerNetwork.wordpress.com/
Visit Larry James on LinkedIn
Follow Larry’s Networking on Facebook: https://www.Facebook.com/NetworkingHeadquarters/timeline
Follow Larry’s Networking Pinterest Page @ http://www.pinterest.com/larryjames2012/networking-blog/!

1 Comment »

  1. […] some of you know I am known for dropping into an occasional fast food place to grab a bite and catch up on reading some of the mail and magazines that I never seem to have […]

    Pingback by Never Quit When You Are Behind! | Larry James' CelebrateLove.com BLOG — Thursday, August 27, 2015 @ 7:33 am | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

